M² Magic and Monsters

Monstrous Creatures

To represent a rich pantheon of monstrous creatures, there is a new troop type in addition to those in the TTS! rulebook. There are 4 classes of Monstrous Creature in the game with the following profiles

Class

Hit Modifier

Save

Hits

Move as

Victory Points

Victory Medals 

I

0

5+

2

Infantry

1

2

II

+1

5+

3

Infantry

1

2

III

+1

5+

4

Cavalry

1

3

IV

+2

4+

4

Cavalry

1

3

Monstrous Generals and Monstrous mounts

Where specified in the list a Monstrous Creature can be a General and/or a Wizard. Some Generals are allowed a Monstrous Mount ( which can either be a Monstrous Creature or War Wagon)

Both Monstrous Mounts and Monstrous Generals use the section for Monstrous Mounts in the Army builder. Monstrous General and Mounts must always be attached (to the Monstrous Mount) and count as mounted.

Class I – III Monstrous Mounts and Monstrous Generals do not get a General’s free move. All moves must be made by activation. They move as the following types – Infantry (Monstrous Creature I & II), Cavalry (Monstrous Creature III & IV) or War Wagon

Monstrous Size – Class III & IV Monsters

  • Automatically cause Terror.
  • Are shot at with a -1 bonus.
  • Take up the full occupancy of a box.
  • Cannot benefit from a ‘Hero’ melee redraw unless as a Monstrous Mount or Monstrous General
  • Cannot share a box in any circumstances.

Walk Amongst Mortals – Class IV Monsters

  • Treat every activation as easy.
  • A Monstrous General gets the free General’s move.

Hits on Monstrous Generals & Mounts

Monstrous Mounts follow the normal rules regarding hits with an attached General. Should the General be killed and the Monstrous Mount survives the mount is treated as a normal unit for the remainder of the game, using its own profile. If the Monstrous Mount is killed, and the General survives, normal rules apply

Monstrous Generals take only a single save when hit. The save is that of the Monster

Death of Monstrous General.

When a Monstrous General is killed, surrender VMs equal to the Monstrous Creature and the Monstrous General (including any VM for being a Wizard). A Monstrous General only loses 1 VM opposed to 2 for a normal General. As the General and the Monster are a single entity then the attached General does not get a chance to escape.

V.6.0

23rd Feb 2021